Late Sen. John McCain Among Those Banned From Visiting Russia

Late Sen. John McCain Among Those Banned From Visiting Russia republican presidential hopeful John McCain speaks at a rally in 2007 John McCain (Photo by Justin Sullivan/Getty Images)

By Charlie McCarthy | Monday, 23 May 2022 12:22 PM

The late Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., on Saturday was listed among Americans permanently banned from visiting Russia.

The Russian Foreign Ministry published a "black list" of American citizens banned from Russia in response to sanctions imposed after President Vladimir Putin's unprovoked attack on Ukraine.

"We emphasize that the hostile actions taken by Washington, which boomerang against the United States itself, will continue to receive a proper rebuff,” the ministry said in a news release.

"Russian counter-sanctions are forced and aimed at forcing the ruling American regime, which is trying to impose a neo-colonial 'rules-based world order' on the rest of the world, to change its behavior, recognizing new geopolitical realities."

McCain, who died in August 2018, was listed among 963 people on the foreign ministry’s list. Former Sens. Harry Reid, D-Nev., and Orrin Hatch, R-Utah, also deceased, were on the list.

Lawmakers banned from visiting Russia included Sens. Lindsey Graham, R-S.C., and Roy Blunt, R-Mo., as well as Reps. Matt Gaetz, R-Fla., Louis Gohmert, R-Texas, Paul Gosar, R-Ariz., Marjorie Taylor Greene, R-Ga., Ronnie Jackson, R-Texas, Nicole Malliotakis, R-N.Y., Elise Stefanik, R-N.Y., and Lee Zeldin, R-N.Y.

House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy, R-Calif., was among Americans banned from visiting Russia, as was former U.N. Ambassador John Bolton and former Attorney General Alberto Gonzales.

"Russia does not seek confrontation and is open to honest, mutually respectful dialogue, separating the American people, who are always respected by us, from the US authorities, who incite Russophobia, and those who serve them," the ministry's statement said. "It is these people who are included in the Russian 'black list.'"

President Joe Biden, his son Hunter Biden and members of the current administration were on the list.

Former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, whose former campaign manager testified Friday that Clinton personally authorized the delivery of since-debunked data alleging collusion between former President Donald Trump and Russia, also was on the list.

Biden, Vice President Kamala Harris and Clinton were banned from visiting Russia per a previous list released in March.

Actor Morgan Freeman and director Carl Reiner were banned from visiting Russia. In a 2017 video directed by Reiner, Freeman accused Putin and Moscow of interfering in the 2016 presidential election between Clinton and Trump.

Original Article