Mississippi Gov. Tate Reeves on the south steps of the state Capitol in Jackson, Miss. (AP Photo/Rogelio V. Solis)
UPDATED 10:58 AM PT – Sunday, August 22, 2021
Mississippi issued an isolation order, which mandates anyone diagnosed with COVID-19 to stay home for several days. The Mississippi State Department of Health announced the order on Friday, which requires all individuals infected with COVID-19 to isolate for a minimum of 10 days or face potential jail time.
According to officials, those who failed to do so could see a $500 fine and a misdemeanor charge. In addition, the fine could increase up to a $5,000 if a life-threatening disease was involved.
A negative test would not be required to end self-isolation. However, residents must be free of a fever for at least 24 hours along. They must also show signs of improvement in symptoms.